Maybelline Master Sculpt

Maybelline New York Master Sculpt Contouring Palette in 02 Medium Dark Review

It seems that more and more drugstore brands are jumping on the contouring bandwagon lately. Maybelline New York has come out with a contouring duo that contains a contour shade and a highlighter. It comes in two shades, 01 light medium and 02 medium dark (at least over here).

Maybelline Master Sculpt Maybelline Master Sculpt

Maybelline Master SculptI chose the 02 medium dark shade, even though I’m fair, because swatching them at the store 01 light medium seemed too orangish (warm toned) to me. The contour shade has to be taupe-ish, or grayish, cool toned and the 01 didn’t seem to be, at least when I swatched it. 02 medium dark is definitely not too dark for someone as light as me, as you can see in the swatch image. So, I don’t think it would work for anyone medium to tan, let alone for deeper skin tones. Hopefully, they will come out with more shades.

The contour shade is cool toned and completely matte, as it should be. It is applied smoothly, not patchy at all and it has decent longevity. I usually apply it with a brush and I have to layer a couple of times it in order for it to show up. That is not necessarily bad since you cannot easily overdo it. You have control over the intensity. If you want it to be more defined you can apply it with your finger and blended out with a brush.

The highlighter is subtle, actually to the point that it is barely noticeable. On the packaging it is suggested that it is applied with fingers.

Maybelline Master Sculpt Maybelline Master SculptI like the packaging. It splits in two, yet it’s not too bulky. The bottom compartment has a mirror a brush. The mirror is big enough and can be useful. I haven’t used the brush, but I have it there just in case. The pan is not glued well. It hasn’t come out yet, but it’s not that steady. It’s probably just mine, but I have to mention it.

It comes with 9 g (about 0.32 oz) of products and from what I can tell 2/3 of that is the contour shade and 1/3 the highlighter.

3 comments

  1. Great post girl , I’ve just Tagged you in doing 20 Beauty Questions Tag ! I can wait to hear from you ! Check it out here : https://theblondeslifebygabrielle.wordpress.com

    1. Hey. Thanks for tagging me. I’ll do it.

  2. blancobeauty · · Reply

    Lovely! I just restarted my blog and was hoping you’d take a look:

    https://blancobeautyblog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

