Have You Checked Out the New H&M Beauty Line?

H&M Mattifying Face Primer, ‘Champers’ Colour Essence Eye Cream, ‘Dusty Rose’ Pure Velvet Cream Blusher – Swatches and First Impressions

H-M Beauty First ImpressionsH&M has recently revamped its beauty line, launching a new, full makeup line, nail line, hair, body and bath line, tools and perfume.

I visited a store, browsed through and summing up what I saw, most products are between €5 and €10 and are made in Italy. There is quite a range of products, but I only got 3 items (this time) to try out, a cream eyeshadow, a cream blush and a face primer. Especially for the face primer, I thought it would be great to find a good primer from the drugstore (or at a drugstore price in that case). So, this post is mainly about presenting them, swatching them and sharing my first impressions.

Colour Essence Eye Cream in ‘Champers’

There are 5, I think, colors in the line and I picked the lightest. It’s a golden-beige with gold shimmer cream eyeshadow that comes in a glass jar with 4.5 ml (0.15 fl oz) of product.

This is the item I’m most impressed about and I’ll tell you why. I’ve only used it 4-5 times, but it hasn’t creased on me, not even after many hours of wear and I have oily lids. No other cream eyeshadow has ever stayed put, without using an eye primer underneath. Actually not even eye primers work for my lids. The only that has worked is Make Up For Ever‘s Eye Prime for which I have written a review.

So, apart from long-wearing, it’s also smooth and easy to be applied and blended.

H-M Beauty First Impressions

H-M Beauty First Impressions

intermission3

Pure Velvet Cream Blusher in ‘Dusty Rose’

The new H&M beauty line has both powder and cream blushes, but I chose a cream one, since I like them better. There are both shimmery and matte cream blushes and from what I could see from the stock left at the display, the one I chose seemed to be very popular. There’s also a shimmery one that is a NARS ‘Orgasm’ or MAC ‘Springsheen’ kind of color.

Anyway, I chose ‘Dusty Rose’, which is a matte cream blush. Its color looks dusty rose in the pan but is more coral-ish on the skin. It is quite neutral though and it looks natural. It has cream to powder finish. I applied it with my fingers and it is applied and blended easily. Its color is buildable.

It has a scent that is not detectable once applied.

What I don’t like is the packaging. It is plastic and even though it looks nice, it feels cheap. Also, I feel that since it’s a cream product, it should be able to be closed tighter. It comes with 4 ml (0.14 fl oz) of product.

H-M Beauty First Impressions

H-M Beauty First Impressions

intermission3

Mattifying Face Primer

The 30 ml (1.01 fl oz) of product come in a squeeze tube. It comes out as a thick whitish cream, but it is colorless when blended. It mattifies instantly and keeps the face matte. I won’t say for how long because that depends on the individual, the weather conditions (temperature and humidity), the activity. All I can say is that it keeps the face matte (or more matte) much longer than without it. I have only used it twice, but I guess I can say it keeps the face more matte until you take it off. FYI I have oily skin.

I think anyone with dry skin should skip it.

H-M Beauty First Impressions


Check out my other H&M Beauty reviews:

H&M Eyeshadows in Baci Di Dama and Candied Almond

H&M ‘In The Buff’ Lip Saviour Balm


7 comments

  1. I need to try that primer.

    1. If you have oily skin, I think you should.

      1. I have oily/combo skin.

  2. I didnt know about this line! That primer is interesting; I have oily skin

  3. First time hearing about this line! Good review! 🙂

    1. Thanks 🙂
      It’s a new line.

Leave a Reply

