Take the Makeup and the Day Off

Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm Review

The way I see it, cleansing balms are like cleansing oils in solid form. Cleansing oil is my favorite makeup remover method, since I first tried M·A·C’s cleanse off oil a few years ago. I’ve never turned back to wipes and lotions. So, it felt almost natural to try out some cleansing balm, too.
By the way, I’ve also tried L’Oréal’s cleansing oil and I have review posts for both M·A·C and L’Oréal oils, as well as a comparison of the two of them.

I’ve been using Clinique’s Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm for about 3 months, I guess I must have formed an opinion about it by now.

First of all, it claims to be a lightweight makeup remover that quickly dissolves tenacious eye and face makeups, sunscreens. It is transformed from a solid balm into a silky oil upon application. It cleans thoroughly and rinses off completely. Non-greasy. Non-drying. Ophthalmologist Tested. For all skin types.

I can’t really tell if it would be ideal for any skin type, all I can say is that I have oily skin and it works perfectly with it. It is not greasy and it does not leave any oily residue. It doesn’t feel it dries out the skin and it doesn’t contain alcohol, so, I don’t see why it wouldn’t be comfortable on dry skin, as well.

It doesn’t irritate my eyes. But, like cleansing oils, it might leave some blurriness, just for a little. Less that the one cleansing oils leave. I don’t wear eye contacts, I assume, thought, that it would be better one to remove the contacts before using it.

Clinique’s Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm removes even waterproof mascara. Some more stubborn (meaning, here, long-wearing) mascaras may need some extra time and a bit more product.

The 125 ml (3.8 oz.) of product come in a thick plastic jar. I wish there were a smaller size as well. It would be easier to travel with. That one is a bit bulky. After all, it lasts for a long time. 50 ml of product, for instance, would suffice for months, would cost less and would be easier to travel with.

How I use it: I scoop some product, I rub it in my palms to warm it and it immediately turns into an oil in liquid form. I massage it gently over dry face and eyes and it dissolves all makeup. If I feel it needs it, I might repeat. I only repeat sometimes due to mascara stubbornness mentioned before! I rinse off. Normally I take my makeup off at night, so I proceed with some face cleanser and moisturizer/ serum or whatever I use at night. Just make sure, just like cleansing oils, it needs to be applied on dry face, not wet, in order to be effective.

In the demo image below, I use some of the Take the Day Off cleansing balm to remove M·A·C’s Blacktrack fluidline (gel eyeliner) from the back of my hand. In case you don’t know, fluidlines are quite long-wearing. As you can see, it dissolves it without using too much of the cleansing balm. The last picture is after washing it off, without the use of any soap.

As I said, I’ve been using this product for 2-3 months now and I haven’t made a significant dent yet, so I can only imagine it will last me a long time. Generally, I find cleansing oils and balms to be the most economical makeup removers. They typically cost more than other methods but each product lasts way longer.

What I don’t like about it is the scent. It’s not intense at all, nor is it that bad. I don’t like it because it reminds me of old (not necessarily spoiled) walnuts! It’s not that disturbing and it is possible that I am the only one that relates the scent to old walnuts!

Will I buy it again? I might. M·A·C’s Cleanse Off Oil remains my favorite makeup remover, so when Clinique’s Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm is over, months later I assume, I will probably repurchase the M·A·C oil.

Clinique - Take The Day OffClinique - Take The Day Off

Clinique - Take The Day OffClinique - Take The Day Off

Clinique - Take The Day Off cleansing balm in action

Clinique’s Take The Day Off cleansing balm turns into an oil and dissolves M·A·C’s Blacktrack fluidline. The image in the bottom right is after washing it off, without using any soap.

 

2 comments

  1. I’ve become seriously obsessed with cleansing oils as of late, and I’ve been thinking more about cleansing balms, which seem more travel friendly to me because they aren’t a liquid to spill out. I may have to stop by the Clinique counter and see if I can get a sample! Thanks for the lovely review!
    XOXO
    Veronica

    1. Yes get a sample if you can. That one is too bulky to travel with. The Body Shop has also one that is much more convenient for traveling.

Leave a Reply

