Beauty Buys – July 2014

Has anyone else got into this summer laziness, or it’s just me?

I’ve been meaning to write a couple of more posts, but… Even my previous post, I’ve been meaning to post it a bit earlier.

Anyways, I guess now it’s time for my documentation of my purchases of the previous month. Summer sales started in July and there were some deals on some cosmetics, as well. So, I ignored the laziness and I went shopping!

Beauty Buys July 2014

From M·A·C: Mineralize Volcanic Ash Exfoliator and Mineralize Skinfinish Natural (in Light) in the new packaging. They are both re-purchases. I’m getting low for the ones I have. It’s the third MSF Natural I’m buying. I got the Volcanic Ash Exfoliator for the first time earlier this year and I’ve already loved it. I cannot imagine being without it! I use it 2-3 times a week (btw I have oily skin) in the shower, since it can get a bit messy.

From Inglot: Sales time = Inglot time! They have some deals, so I couldn’t skip a visit to an Inglot store. I got #201 Fusion Blush & Illuminator in the freedom system pan and two solid perfumes (quite new Inglot products) in ‘Green Fruit’ and ‘Golden Wood’. I also got two single palettes for the perfumes, called ‘Freedom System Fragrance Palette’, that I like because they are white, unlike the typical black Inglot palettes. I also got a Freedom System Palette [4] Square that holds 4 square Inglot pans, meaning eyeshadow, brow powder, brow wax, lipstick pan or solid perfume.

From The Balm: ‘Cindy-Lou Manizer’ that can be used as a highlighter, a blush, or an eyeshadow. It gives a kind of rose gold glow to the skin. That is my first The Balm product. I was debating between this one and ‘Mary-Lou Manizer’, which might be my next purchase form the brand.

From Sephora collection: There was a buy 2 get 1 free offer and I got 3 sheet masks, or fiber masks as Sephora calls them, in ‘Pomegranate’, ‘Green tea’ and ‘Pearl’. Sephora was having the smoothing & brightening concealers 70% off, they might discontinue it or change its packaging, so I got ’01 radiant ivory’ and ’03 radiant rose’. I have used the rose one before and I liked it, hence I took advantage of the offer and I got it again, together with her sister (makeup items are girls or boys, I wonder!).

From Essence: From the ‘Beach Cruisers’ collection ’01 Life is a Beach’ bronzing powder and ’01 Cruisers United’ waterproof mascara top coat. And from the permanent line ’12 Wish me a Rose’ lipliner. Essence’s lipliners are pigmented, creamy, silky, easy to apply and inexpensive.

From Maybelline: ‘Dark Blond’ Browdrama sculpting brow mascara and ‘Mint Fresh’ Baby Lips lip balm.

From Wet ‘n’ Wild: ‘Rico Mauve’ Megaslicks Balm Stain moisturizing lip colour and ‘Think Pink’ Lip Color [I got to say here that the difference in spelling of the word ‘color’ is because it is spelled differently on the products themselves]. From the coloricon line I got ‘Brulee’ single eyeshadow and ‘Knock On Wood’ eye shadow trio.

From H&M: I couldn’t pass up the deal of getting this ‘Blusher’, since it was marked down to €1.

From Nivea: I got 2 body conditioners in ‘Milk & Honey’ and ‘Cocoa & Milk’. I found them 40% off and I couldn’t choose which scent I like the most, hence I got both! In case you don’t know, Nivea’s body conditioners, or “in-shower body moisturizers” as they called elsewhere, are exactly that. They are used in the shower, after body wash, and they have to be rinsed off. The skin doesn’t need any body lotion afterwards. I find them to be good as shaving creams, as well.

From Dove: I got 2 Purely Pampering Nourishing Body Oils in ‘pistachio cream and magnolia’ and ‘shea butter and warm vanilla’. The first one is clear and the latter one has a golden glow that has the finest shimmer possible and gives a glow to the skin without being shimmery. They mention that they are non-greasy. I find the one with shea butter to be slightly greasy, that is probably due to the glow it gives. Bear in mind, though, that my skin is not dry at all, it doesn’t need heavy moisturizers. The one with pistachio cream, which by the way is my favorite scent, has better ingredients. The other one’s first in line ingredient is mineral oil, while the pistachio cream one does not contain any.
Again, I found them in a deal and after trying the ‘pistachio cream and magnolia’ one, I decided to get the other one, too. Even though they are “body oils”, I have even applied them to my hair as well.

Beauty Buys July 2014


#beauty buys

6 comments

  1. emmasiv · · Reply

    Hiya, I love your blog! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award, check out my blog for more details! Emma x
    anomalousmebeauty.wordpress.com

    1. Thank you. I’m glad you like my blog.

  2. haha don’t worry – the summer laziness bug bit me too 😉 great post! it must have been so much fun buying all of it 😀
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    1. Not so fun for my wallet though!

  3. Looks like you got quite the haul going on! I’ve very intrigued by those Dove body oils, do you think you could do a separate review of them?
    XOXO
    Veronica

    1. Sure. But it will take a while because I’m leaving today and I’ll be back in a couple of weeks. So, I would probably be able to use them more and write a review towards the end of the month. What I’ve written here were my first impressions.
      Let me tell you a bit more. The one with ‘shea butter and warm vanilla’ gives a nice glow to the skin, like the one we see celebrities have on music videos and red carpets. It would look better, I guess, on tanned skin rather than my fair skin! It’s not shimmery exactly. The oil has a golden tint, with the tinniest sparkles that give a glow effect and not a shimmery one on the skin. It’s not sticky but slightly greasy, which might not be that obvious on normal to dry skin.
      I love the scent of the ‘pistachio cream and magnolia’. It is clear, the scent lingers. That one does not leave any greasy residue. It is quickly absorbed. I tried it in my hair as well and it gives them a luxurious (according to my preference) pistachio scent. I’m not sure about its benefits to the hair but it didn’t make it drier or anything. It’s an oil though, it might make it look oilier, but personally, I want that for my ends. The other one gives them an extra glow.

Leave a Reply

