Make Any Nail Color Matte Using Just Water

Quick Tip:

I do not know if that is widely known, but I’ve just found it out, I tested it and I thought to post about it.

Heat some water until it’s almost boiled. It has to be steamy hot.

All you have to do is paint your nails and before they dry, place them over hot water for a few seconds and the steam will make the color matte! As simple as that!

Just be extra careful when dealing with hot water.

I tested it and I find it pretty effective. The steam technique makes the nail color matte in just a few seconds. The result is probably not as matte as using a matte top coat, but it’s definitely not glossy, as you can see in the image below. And it does not cost anything!

I painted my nails with 87 Ocean Blue nail polish by Korres.

Matte Nails (the steam technique)

Index finger: 2 coats of Korres Ocean Blue nail polish without any top coat
Middle finger: After applying the 2nd coat of Korres Ocean Blue nail polish, I left it over steamy water for a few seconds
Ring finger: 2 coats of Korres Ocean Blue nail polish with a mattifying top coat

3 comments

  1. That’s really cool! I hadn’t heard of this method before! Can’t wait to try it 🙂

  2. I found this out when I went in the shower too soon after painting my nails and the steam turned them matte haha!

  3. Reblogged this on BEAUTY & LIFESTYLE ON THE MED | mysecretkshopper and commented:
    On my return to Athens last year I found that I had run out of my ratifying top coat and couldn’t find another one anywhere. With a quick web search I found this great tip!

Leave a Reply

