L’Oréal Cleansing Oil

L’Oréal Cleansing Oil Review and Comparison with the M·A·C Cleanse Off Oil

A couple of months ago, I wrote a post about the three new L’Oréal Cleansing products I got. As I mentioned back then, two of them seemed to be inexpensive alternatives of higher end products and that I would come back to say my opinion on those and compare them with their more expensive alternatives. So, here I am!

L’Oréal Skin Perfection Miracle Cleansing Oil is one of the newest additions to the brand’s cleansing line. L’Oréal has chosen to distribute the product with slightly different names in the different countries it is sold. Just for reference I chose to use the name the product is sold in the UK.

It is essentially a makeup remover in an oil form, that suppose to be an alternative to cleansing oils of higher end brands, like my beloved M·A·C Cleanse Off Oil.

According to L’Oréal, this cleansing oil removes makeup and impurities, leaving the skin clean and non-greasy. It is ideal for both face and eyes, even for waterproof makeup and for every skin type. Personally, I can talk only about my skin type and say that it works perfectly with oily skin.

In order to use it, apply some of the L’Oréal oil to dry hands and massage it on dry face and see it dissolving your makeup. Rinse off with water. Once you add water, the oil turns into a whitish solution. You can follow up with your face wash.

It does not irritate the eyes, nor does it leave any oily residue on the skin.

Just like other similar products, it might leave a bit blurry vision for a little, which goes away and back to normal quickly. Bear in mind that I don’t wear contacts. I do not know if it’s better to remove your contacts before using this product, or any cleansing oil for that matter.

The amount of product needed depends on the makeup used. For me, personally, 1 pump feels more than enough to remove my whole everyday face and eye makeup, and I use waterproof mascara.

The 150 ml of the L’Oréal’s oil come in an amber – colored bottle with a pump. The actual product, though, is clear and has a soft, kind of floral, scent.

L’Oréal Cleansing OilL'Oréal Skin Perfection Miracle Cleansing Oil pump

Comparison with M·A·C ‘s Cleanse Off Oil (click here for my review)

L’Oréal’s cleansing oil is used just like MAC’s oil and performs similarly. They both remove even waterproof mascara with about the same amount of product.

There is a great difference in the price tag, which is justified by another great difference, that of the ingredients.

Basically, MAC Cleanse off Oil is a mixture of natural oils, while the L’Oréal one is practically mineral oil, which is one of the most controversial ingredients in cosmetics. On the other hand, MAC makes sure to highlight that it is mineral oil free.

L’Oréal and MAC Cleansing OilsI’ve tried to find some information on the use of mineral oil on the skin and the debate over it, and honestly, both sides failed to persuade me completely. Just have that in mind and do your own research on the effects to the skin of the mineral oil in cosmetics, before deciding to purchase this product.

L’Oréal’s oil has an added scent, as previously mentioned. MAC’s oil does not have any distinct scent.

L'Oréal Skin Perfection Miracle Cleansing Oil ingredients MAC Cleanse Off Oil - directions and ingredients

One comment

  1. kflowermaquillage · · Reply

    Great review/ comparison! I’ve found a cheap dupe for MAC cleanse off oil too. It’s by am Asian skincare brand. I’m a makeup artist and I’d love it if you could check out my beauty blog & follow if you like it 🙂 http://www.kateflowermaquillage.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

