An Eye Primer Even for Oily Skin/ Eyelids

Review: Make Up For Ever – Eye Prime

Make Up For Ever’s Eye Prime is one of my discoveries of 2012. Actually, this product did came out in 2012 and I have been using it for about a year now.

This long wear eyelid primer, as Make Up For Ever describes it, has beige color that comes out clear on the skin, when blended. And I have to testify that it prolongs the wear of the eyeshadow, until you decide to take the makeup off. I have never experienced creasing of the eyeshadows when layering over this product.

I have oily skin (not combination, just oily) and my eyelids are not an exception. In addition, I live in a warm place, so I’ve always had issues having my makeup, especially my eye makeup, staying on, especially in summer. Hence, I have tried a lot of products. I mean A LOT! I have always been seeking for something that will keep my eye makeup in place. So, when Make Up For Ever‘s Eye Prime came to my life, it made an impact on me! It’s the only product that has kept my eye makeup crease–proof and fade–proof. I have even tested it on a long hot day of July.

Having said that, I do not feel Make Up For Ever‘s Eye Prime dries the eye lids, it feels comfortable on them. Actually, it feels like it’s not even there. Thus, even though I personally have oily skin, I don’t think those with dry skin will have an issue with it.

As far as making the colors more vibrant (than without it), I don’t see it, but I guess it allows the eyeshadows give their full potential, without looking too heavy. It does keep the colors from fading, though.

Make Up For Ever’s Eye Prime comes in a lipgloss–like tube, with a doe foot applicator and 5.5 ml (0.18 fl. oz.) of product.

The only downside I find is its price. As far as I remember, I got it for about €18-19 (incl. tax) for a small, 5.5 ml, tube. The U.S. price, according to Sephora’s website, is $22 (plus tax), by the way. You do not need much in each application, but still, it is only 5.5 ml. So, depending on how often you are going to use it, it won’t take you too long to run out of it.

Random info [that shows how much I like this product]: The box in the images below is from my back–up item, since I don’t keep the boxes of cosmetics, I recycle them!

My quest in finding something to keep my eye makeup on throughout the day:
I have tried almost anything I have access to, eye primers (Too Faced, Art Deco, Inglot, Essence, Benefit, MAC, Sephora collection), as well as long wear/ cream eyeshadows (Bobbi Brown, Essence, Make Up For Ever, Benefit, Clinique, Maybelline, MAC – both paintpots and paints). As I’ve said earlier, a lot of products! Nothing has kept my eye makeup without creasing after a while. Layering a long wear cream eyeshadow over an eye primer is working well enough, but it still creases at the end of the day, or even sooner!

Make Up For Ever - Eye Prime

Make Up For Ever - Eye Prime

Make Up For Ever - Eye Prime


My 7 Beauty Discoveries of 2012
Make Up For Ever Aqua Brow review (one of my 2012 discoveries)
Add a Face Brush into your Routine (one of my 2012 discoveries)

Leave a Reply

