Now There is a CC Cream…

After the BB mania, here comes the CC mania. CC creams are simply the next generation of the BBs. That’s probably the only beauty item with so many names. BB may stand for Beauty Balm, Blemish Balm, Blemish Base or Beblesh Balm, depending on the brand. CC stands for Color Control, Complexion Corrector, Complete Correction or Color Correction (so far). Most beauty products, if not all of them, have evolved throughout the years, but they have not changed their names.

Anyways, the BB cream was developed by a German doctor and became popular in South Korea and Japan, and the CC cream was finalized in South Korea.

Just like BB cream, CC is considered a hybrid of skincare and makeup. CC creams have the same properties as the BBs, but enhanced, plus they offer more coverage. For more info on the BB cream click here.

CC creams:
• have lighter texture which make them a better option for oily skin than the BBs
• usually have higher SPF
• have more coverage and they reduce skin discoloration

CC creams are already popular in Asia and lately they have started making their invasion into the western market. Chanel is the first international brand to launch a CC cream in Asia. Olay has already a CC cream line in the US and L’Oreal has recently launched it in Europe in three hues green, violet and peachy – tone. Clinique will be launching one this spring, in six shades.

So, what’s next? DD (I’m the only one that finds it funny?), or maybe AA (like batteries)?

CC_Creams

Just to be honest, even though BBs are fairly new in the West, I’m already sick and tired of them. I’m pretty sure the Asian ones are much better, but the ones we have here are nothing more than tinted moisturizers or not even that. Some of them are very sheer foundations that are lacking of any skincare properties that BBs were originally made to have. Just by naming something “BB cream” does not magically make it an actual BB cream. Now the BB mania has been expanded and Pantene Pro-V is launching a BB cream for hair and Garnier has already launched in some countries the BB cream eye roll-on. I’m not sure if there is one for the body, but even if there isn’t, it will be soon.

I tested the L’Oreal CC creams on the back of my hand at the store and I have to admit that I was not impressed by them as well. I have not tested them on my face, though, to see how they perform.

That’s just my opinion on the BBs, you don’t have to agree.

4 comments

  1. I wonder if they’ll make CC creams specifically for men, just like they’ve done with the BB creams. Great post! 🙂

    1. They probably will. Duplicating letters seems to be the new trend.
      I didn’t know about the BB creams for men.
      Thanks. I’m glad you liked it.

  2. I must say I’ve never been into the BB trend as I like a lot of coverage so I don’t think I’ll be trying these! I feel all the brands are jumping on the bandwagon! x

    1. It’s good to see I’m not the only one that thinks that it’s too much ado about nothing.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

