The 7 Wonders of 2012

Well, ok, that’s an exaggeration. I know.

Anyways, I wanted to share with you my seven discoveries of the year. That means cosmetics or beauty related products, tools, some even generic, and one makeup technique in my routine, which I discovered in 2012. Why seven? My initial thought was to dedicate one post for each one, one every day during the week between Christmas and New Year’s. But because I know me and also my 4-year-old niece will be visiting for few days and will have me exhausted and probably out of time for much more, I decided to just mention my seven discoveries of 2012 and hopefully one day (soon) to dedicate some extra words to some of these.

These are my discoveries of the year but that does not mean they are new products, simply new to me. Some are pretty old actually.

So, here we go, starting chronologically from my first discovery, to my latest which was made only a couple of months ago:

-1- Face brush. A simple, like a huge toothbrush, manual not powered face brush. You can find a really inexpensive one; I got mine for €1. So, I can replace it with a new one, for hygienic reasons, without second thoughts. I use it every night and it cleanses the skin better, deeper than without it. By the way, I have oily skin, so using it every night works perfect with that. Every day use probably wouldn’t be ideal for drier skin types. I use a face cleanser from The Body Shop with it at the moment. Click here for more information.

In combination with a couple of other things (including the one that follows), the face brush made a huge difference on my skin.

-2- Green clay mask. French, if that makes any difference. I had tried clay masks before, but [French] green clay mask is perfect for my skin. I try to use it once a week.

Overall, 2012, especially the first half of it, was a “face mask year” for me!

-3- Using bronzer on my crease, as either a transitional color or as the main crease color for an everyday look, with a light eye shadow all over (I mainly used MAC’s Naked Lunch eye shadow) and 9.9 out of 10 times that I used bronzer on the crease, something that I am doing almost every day practically, I opt for MAC’s Refined Golden bronzing powder. Click here for my Refine Golden bronzer review.

-4- Crystal deodorant. 100% natural, in stone form. It does not irritate the skin, it is fragrance free and it keeps me fresh throughout the day.

-5- Make Up For Ever Eye Prime. I think that is a new product that came out in 2012. What I know for sure, though, is that it’s the only one of the dozens primers or/ and long lasting self-proclaimed products that actually works on my oily lids, even during a hot summer day. Click here for my review post.

-6- Steel heel file. I used to use the ones that look like nail files, but a bit bigger and these could injure the skin. On contrary, the steel file that looked kind of scary to me to use before, hasn’t injured the skin at all. It gets rid of the dry skin and makes the heels soft.

-7- Make Up For Ever Aqua Brow. In the matter of fact, I was skeptical about it at first. I thought it would be too dark for me, like most brow products are, I thought that it would be difficult to apply, that it would be too harsh, not natural-looking, and… I was simply wrong. I use the lightest shade, #10 light blond, by the way, and I apply it with a Make Up For Ever brow brush that I own for 2-3 years now. Click here for my review post.

beauty discoveries

Leave a Reply

