Let’s Back-2-MAC and Get Free Makeup

Back-2-M·AC is the company’s program that incentivizes customers to recycle MAC containers and awards them with a free make up item (mainly a lipstick) of their choice.

So here how it works. You return 6 empty MAC products (not the boxes they come with) and you get a free lipstick of your choice. Actually they don’t have to be empty, if there is a product you don’t want it anymore you can “back to MAC” it. In some places (MAC stores not counters in the US, not in Europe as far as I know and I have no idea about the rest of the world) you can get a lipstick or a lipgloss or an eyeshadow.

You can return containers from: lipstick, eyeshadow (all kinds that come in pots), lipgloss (all kinds), blush (powder, cream, mineralize), concealer, foundation, cream color base, paintpot, fluidline, paint, mascara, pigment, powder (all of them), liquid liner, shadestick, primer (anything from the prep+prime line), lip conditioner, makeup remover, face/eye cream, face wash, cleanse off oil, brush cleanser, fix+. Also limited edition quads, trios, duos and palettes. That’s all, I think.

I was recently told (by a MAC employee) that you cannot return retractable liners and the cases of false lashes any more, but honestly I think it’s kind of weird. She might be wrong.

You cannot back to MAC travel size products. Nor can you the pump you get extra for MAC foundations.

The products that are eligible for back to MAC have a “Back-2-M·A·C” sign on the paper box they come with.

You cannot get a Viva Glam item or an eyeshadow in the pan form (for palette).


I Back-2-MAC-ed (June 2013)

15 comments

  1. Thank you so much, this was very helpful.

    1. I’m glad you liked it. Thank you for taking the extra time to leave a comment.

  2. Hi, I’m sorry if this is a stupid question but I have a special edition pigment pack? It came with 5 really little glass bottles of pigment, can I Back2MAC these bottles? I’m so sorry if this is a ridiculous question but I’m really confused!

    1. No that’s not a stupid question.
      I don’t think you can Back-2-MAC them. Smaller/ travel sizes cannot be “Back2MAC-ed”. But you should ask next time you find yourself at a MAC store or you can even call a MAC store and ask.

  3. Hi, can I Back2MAC bottles of nail polish?

    1. As far as I know yes you can but I’m not 100% sure.

  4. Eleni · · Reply

    Can I send in products to back-to-mac from countries that does not have back-to-mac?

    1. As far as I know countries that have MAC stores do have back-2-MAC program. Some (not all I think) official MAC sites from different countries give you the chance to send them empty packaging and back-2-MAC but they do not send products everywhere in the world. Only to the site’s country of origin.
      Your name sounds Greek, do you live in Greece? You can back to MAC at MAC stores in Greece, like for example the one in Ermou (in Athens). Just ask the MAC store you usually go if you can back-2-MAC there. But I’ve heard that in Greece they do not give lipsticks anymore but eyeshadows.

  5. Hollie Wilsher · · Reply

    Can you Back2Mac the pans of eyeshadows you use to fill up the empty pallets you can buy?

    1. You mean the metal ones, right? No, you cannot. I actually mention it at the very end of my post.
      Edit: Oops! No, I don’t mention it!

      1. Hollie · · Reply

        Yeah I mean the metal ones and thankyou!x x

  6. Zina · · Reply

    Can you back2mac the foundation bottle without the cover as I lost it when I replaced it with the pump.

    1. The truth is that I don’t know. I guess you can since it probably happens a lot. I’m not 100% sure, though.

  7. Eleni Kolokotronis · · Reply

    can i back to mac the mac minerliza charged water gel form?

    1. I’m not sure what you mean by the word “form” but you can back to MAC the MAC Mineralize Charged Water Gel. The actual case/ container of the product, not the paper box it comes in.

Leave a Reply

