M·A·C Cleanse off Oil Review

M·A·C Cleanse off Oil comes in 30 ml (1 fl oz) and 150 ml (5 fl oz) bottles with pumps.

According to MAC’s official site:

An industry-strength oil-based makeup remover that’s gentle on the skin. Botanically formulated with oils of olive fruit, evening primrose and jojoba seed and absolutely 100 percent mineral-oil free. Massages onto the skin to loosen all makeup, including waterproof mascara. Emulsifies into a lotion-type liquid with water: rinses off easily, no tissues required – and no residue! Protects with vitamin E. Skin softening and conditioning. Good for all skin types.

MAC cleanse off oil (Image from the official MAC site)

Don’t get confused by its name. M·A·C’s Cleanse off Oil is a thick, oil-like makeup remover and yet, it removes everything, even waterproof mascara, without much effort. It has never irritated my eyes or skin and I have been used it for few years now. I have oily skin and it this product does not make it feel oilier.

How to use: Put a pump or two (I usually use 1 – 1.5 pumps or 4 – 5 pumps of the smaller bottle, but that depends on how much makeup you have on. It might need more than 2 pumps) on dry hands, apply it on dry face, massage it onto your face and see your makeup melting. If you don’t want your eye makeup to move into your face, not even for few seconds, you can do your face first and then pump some more product to remove your eyes’ makeup. Then add some (lukewarm or warm preferably) water to your face and massage a little. The oil turns into a whitish emulsion. Rinse it off. Personally, I wash my face afterwards, with a facial wash (at the moment The Body Shop’s Vitamin E Gentle Facial Wash).

M·A·C Cleanse off Oil does not sting the eyes, but after washing it off it makes vision a lit blurry, which, of course, goes away after a little. I’m totally used to that now, but in the beginning it was a kind of an uncomfortable feeling. I don’t wear contacts, so I cannot tell for sure if one should use it while wearing contacts, or oil might get onto the contacts and stain them. I have not, though, heard anyone saying that it has happened.

M·A·C Cleanse off Oil can also be used for cleaning makeup brushes. It can break down creamy product on the bristles and make it easier to clean them. It can help with those white bristles that seem to be stained easier.

At first glance, M·A·C Cleanse off Oil might seems expensive, but a 150 ml bottle lasts me for 10-11 months with everyday use. Before I start using it I was using both a makeup wipe to remove most of my face and eye makeup and makeup remover to remove what the wipe hasn’t removed, because one wipe was not enough. Moreover, some wipes kind of irritated my eyes. So, nothing is as economical as M·A·C Cleanse off Oil for me.

The smaller bottle (30ml) is ideal for traveling or to try the product out, before spending your money on the 150ml size.

I have already repurchased it three or four times and I probably keep repurchasing forever.  It is one of my “holy grail” products.

MAC Cleanse Off Oil pumpMAC Cleanse Off Oil - directions

MAC Cleanse Off Oil - directions and ingredien


L’Oréal Cleansing Oil Review and Comparison with M·A·C Cleanse Off Oil

Leave a Reply

